How do I make a character sit? + more

General discussion of the House Party CSC, or get help making your own story.
Forum rules
Please follow all Eek! Forum rules.
Alaniata

How do I make a character sit? + more

Alright. I'm kinda new to the CSC and trying to figure what all the buttons do. I got a couple of problems I need help with (more will surely follow):

1. How do you make dialogue dependent? I want the greetings to go away after the first conversation. And I also wanna activate a dialogue when sitting in the chairs by the fire.
2. Which leads to: How do I make a character use a chair? I tried walking them to it and use "mount" but that just turns Amy into a fidget spinner that must go because her people need her. How to make sit, plx?

Thanks
diliGent

Re: How do I make a character sit? + more

I'm also new to this, but the way I understand it is you control what happens primarily through criteria -that includes dialog. I think there's actually a "has met" function built-in.
So in your event trigger for the greeting, you would actually have two dialog triggers: One for the "hey we've never met" response with the criteria set up for "has met -> [character] = FALSE" (apologies, I can't remember the exact wording off the top of my head)
And then the "hey again" dialog trigger with the criteria set up for "has met -> [character] = TRUE"

I think to make the character sit you're looking to trigger "state" (i think "mount" is used to pin prop models to the characters hands and such). You need either an event or dialog event to send the character to the chair (item) you want them to sit in, then create a new event trigger -set the "when" to: [character] -> reaches -> item -> [chair]
And the event to: [character] ->state -> sitting