[SOLVED] AMD Radeon HD legacy video cards and unity

This forum is for posting any bugs you find with the House Party game. Please do not ask for help with the game in this forum. Use the main House Party forum for that. Only post things that you feel are a problem with the programming or the game not doing what it is supposed to.
Forum rules
No racism, sexism, anti-semitism, brigading, doxxing, or ANY form of abusive behavior. No discussion of hacking or piracy or the buying, trading, or selling of ANY type of product or service (digital or otherwise). No advertising of any product or service (digital or otherwise, and this includes streams or any service involving 'subscribers'). No discussion of religion or politics. Do not link to other adult sites, with the exception being discussion of other adult games in Offtopic/allowed subforums; i.e. no pornography.

Do not spam, do not try to circumvent any automated tools that are part of these forums or any linking to these forums. Do not judge others based on their preferences for custom stories, their opinions, sexuality, etc., and most certainly do not bring it to the moderators.

Respect the moderators and each other and all will be well. Report any violations of the above rules. Do not violate local or international laws (including, but not limited to the laws of your country and/or the laws of the United States) while making use of these forums. The IP address of all posts are recorded to aid in enforcing these conditions.

We will use username, e-mail, AND IP bans without reservation, and mods hold the final word in such decisions.
unityhelper
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 10:26 pm

[SOLVED] AMD Radeon HD legacy video cards and unity

Post by unityhelper » Sun Jan 27, 2019 10:38 pm

Tried to run House Party on AMD Radeon HD6770M and AMD Radeon HD5750. Game not worked, sometimes just black screen, sometimes crashed after 1-5 sec of running story. Main menu works fine.
Latest driver version from 2016 year and there will be no updates as this videocards are legacy.
I just add "-force-feature-level–10–1" to command line and all works fine now. This parameter is for unity, so it will help with another unity games on this videocards too. There are another feature levels if you have more legacy card :) https://docs.unity3d.com/2018.2/Documen ... ments.html (at the end of the page)
Hope it will help somebody.

erasmus
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 4:29 pm

Re: [SOLVED] AMD Radeon HD legacy video cards and unity

Post by erasmus » Mon Jan 28, 2019 11:47 am

Hey, good feedback thank you! I will add it to our troubleshooting guidelines.
Erasmus
Eek! Games LLC
Vice President, QA & UX

unityhelper
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 10:26 pm

Re: [SOLVED] AMD Radeon HD legacy video cards and unity

Post by unityhelper » Thu Jan 31, 2019 3:37 am

If you copied string from https://docs.unity3d.com/2018.2/Documen ... ments.html there are wrong characters. "–" (EN DASH) instead of "-" (HYPHEN-MINUS). Replace minuses by hand. In my first message they are wrong too.

-force-feature-level-9-3
-force-feature-level-10-0
-force-feature-level-10-1
-force-feature-level-11-0

erasmus
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 4:29 pm

Re: [SOLVED] AMD Radeon HD legacy video cards and unity

Post by erasmus » Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:16 am

Yeah I caught that too before I put the instructions up in our troubleshooting docs. Thanks though!
Erasmus
Eek! Games LLC
Vice President, QA & UX

TheZX
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 2:02 pm

Re: [SOLVED] AMD Radeon HD legacy video cards and unity

Post by TheZX » Tue Mar 05, 2019 2:17 pm

Hey how does one go about doing this?

erasmus
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 4:29 pm

Re: [SOLVED] AMD Radeon HD legacy video cards and unity

Post by erasmus » Tue Mar 05, 2019 10:45 pm

You can add these command line options via Steam's Launch Options (see below copy-paste), OR, you can add them to the "target" of a shortcut.

Right Click on House Party in your Library
Choose "Properties"
Click "Set Launch Options"
Paste into text box the command line option
Click "OK"
Click "Close"

To add command line options to a Windows shortcut, see this article, as I think it lays it out pretty simply: https://www.lifewire.com/command-line-p ... es-3399930
Erasmus
Eek! Games LLC
Vice President, QA & UX

Tzimanious
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2019 10:13 am

Re: [SOLVED] AMD Radeon HD legacy video cards and unity

Post by Tzimanious » Thu Apr 11, 2019 10:21 am

Hello! I had the same problem and the parameters seemed to fix it for me aswell... I got a Radeon 6790

However, when I start the game and I approach a character it gets like this and if I move back away again, it goes back to normal. Also, sometimes it gets normal just for a split second then goes back to this.

Image
Image

I tried lowering the res to like 720p so it doesn't overload my gpu (maybe thats what was causing the problem) but it doesn't make any difference.

erasmus
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 4:29 pm

Re: [SOLVED] AMD Radeon HD legacy video cards and unity

Post by erasmus » Thu Apr 11, 2019 11:30 am

Tzimanious wrote:
Thu Apr 11, 2019 10:21 am
Hello! I had the same problem and the parameters seemed to fix it for me aswell... I got a Radeon 6790

However, when I start the game and I approach a character it gets like this and if I move back away again, it goes back to normal. Also, sometimes it gets normal just for a split second then goes back to this.

Image
Image

I tried lowering the res to like 720p so it doesn't overload my gpu (maybe thats what was causing the problem) but it doesn't make any difference.
Hey there, was this your post in Steam?

https://steamcommunity.com/app/611790/d ... 709496132/
Erasmus
Eek! Games LLC
Vice President, QA & UX

Tzimanious
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2019 10:13 am

Re: [SOLVED] AMD Radeon HD legacy video cards and unity

Post by Tzimanious » Thu Apr 11, 2019 12:04 pm

Yeah it was mine. I tried some of the things you said but it didn't work and I figured maybe someone else might have had the same problem and help here. Not meant to disregard your tips. I'm gonna try some more since I wasn't online much today and I'll redownload it if nothing else comes up.

Should I make another thread so people can actually come and look for this thing specifically?

Thanks!

Tzimanious
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2019 10:13 am

Re: [SOLVED] AMD Radeon HD legacy video cards and unity

Post by Tzimanious » Thu Apr 11, 2019 2:57 pm

So! (My GPU is RADEON HD 6790 1GB)

I deleted the entire game and deleted every folder you said. I then downloaded the BETA Drivers from AMD's site. Installed those instead and then redownloaded the game. It seems to work just fine without any parameters!

The folders I deleted.

C:\Users\YOUR-USERNAME-HERE\AppData\LocalLow\Eek\
C:\Users\YOUR-USERNAME-HERE\AppData\Local\Temp\Eek\
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\House Party\
C:\Users\YOUR-USERNAME-HERE\Documents\Eek\

Then delete this registry key: Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Eek\House Part

Post Reply